With its world-renowned faculty and state-of-the-art facilities, the The William H. Miller III Department of Physics & Astronomy combines the best aspects of a top research university with the more intimate learning environment typical of small liberal arts colleges. Through small classes and numerous opportunities to participate in research, students gain a solid foundation in the physics and astronomy areas of their choosing.

The department has four primary areas of focus: condensed matter physics, particle physics, astronomy and astrophysics, and plasma physics. A flexible curriculum, with separate BA and BS degree programs, accommodates students with post-graduation aspirations as diverse as graduate study, medical or law school, teaching, or technological careers. Both undergraduate and graduate courses are designed to provide a core of basic subjects at appropriate levels, which then lead to courses in a variety of more specialized topics.