Department News Archive

Search Our Archives

Yichen Shen, Class of ’11, Named Forbes’ “30 Under 30” for Energy Technology

Yichen Shen, former JHU Physics major (class of 2011), has been named one of Forbes’ “30 under 30” for his contributions to energy technology. Yichen is the founder and CEO of Lightelligence Inc. and the founder of Lux Labs Inc., two companies that leverage advances in nanophotonics he developed in his PhD and postdoctoral research […]

NASA Features Prof Julian Krolik’s Work on Spiraling Supermassive Black Holes

NASA featured science by Prof. Julian Krolik and co-authors on their homepage today. The science focuses on a computer simulation of two supermassive black holes spiraling toward collision. It fully incorporates the physical effects of Einstein’s general theory of relativity and shows that gas in such systems will glow predominantly in ultraviolet and X-ray light.

Shu Zhang Earns Graduate Fellowship at Kavli Institute for Theoretical Physics

Graduate student Shu “Suzy” Zhang has earned a graduate fellowship at the Kavli Institute for Theoretical Physics. The purpose of the Graduate Fellowship Program is to offer a unique opportunity for a select group of physics doctoral students to spend a minimum period of 5 months at the KITP, participate in KITP research programs, and […]

Rosemary Wyse Awarded Honorary Doctor of Science from Queen Mary, U. of London

Professor Rosemary F. G. Wyse has been awarded an honorary Doctor of Science from her undergraduate alma mater, Queen Mary College, University of London. Dr. Wyse is pictured here in during the summer graduation at Queen Mary College, when her new doctorate was conferred.

Tim Heckman Receives the 2018 Catherine Wolfe Bruce Gold Medal

Tim Heckman, our Department Chair and Dr. A. Herman Pfund Professor, has received the Catherine Wolfe Bruce Gold Medal from the Astronomical Society of the Pacific. The Catherine Wolfe Bruce Gold Medal has been awarded since 1898 for “a lifetime of outstanding research in astronomy.” Professor Heckman joins a long list of some of the greatest […]

David Sing Named Bloomberg Distinguished Professor

“Dr. Sing has established himself as a leader of the vanguard in exoplanet research,” says Beverly Wendland, dean of the Krieger School. “We expect the new directions his discoveries will take at Johns Hopkins will add a great deal to the local and global community of scholars.”

Chia-Ling Chien Elected Academician of Academia Sinica

Chia-Ling Chien

Chia-Ling Chien, the department’s Jacob K. Hain Professor of Physics, has been elected Academician of Academia Sinica, one of only five new members in the Division of Mathematics and Physical Sciences. Academia Sinica honored Chein for his outstanding achievements in condensed matter physics, nanostructures, and spintronics.

The Institute for Quantum Matter to Become an Energy Frontier Research Center

The Institute for Quantum Matter is to become an Energy Frontier Research Center. IQM will focus on the realization and understanding of new states of quantum matter: (1) Quantum Spin Liquids (2) Magnetic Weyl Semi-metals (3) Monopole Superconductors (4) Axion Insulators. IQM joins a list of 42 EFRCs that were announced today. IQM was selected at […]

Natalia Drichko’s Lab Publishes Evidence for a New Property of Quantum Matter

A theorized but never-before detected property of quantum matter has now been spotted in the lab, a team led by Associate Research Professor Natalia Drichko reports. The study findings, published online in the journal Science, show that a particular quantum material first synthesized 20 years ago, called k-(BEDT-TTF)2Hg(SCN)2 Br, behaves like a metal but is derived from organic […]