Department News Archive

Prof. Rosemary Wyse Elected a Fellow of the American Physical Society.

Prof. Rosemary Wyse has been elected a Fellow of the American Physical Society. The criterion for election is exceptional contributions to the physics enterprise. Wyse was recognized “For pioneering contributions to the field of galactic archaeology and near-field cosmology.”

Department-wide Colloquia Series Begins September 21 @ 3:30

September 21 marks the beginning of the Fall 2017 Department-wide Colloquia Series. All colloquia begin at 3:30 PM and take place in Schafler Auditorium (Bloomberg 272). Please make every effort to attend these department-wide colloquia.

Dr. Andrea Ghez to present the 2017 Brickwedde Lecture in Physics on 9/19

The Johns Hopkins University, Henry A. Rowland Department of Physics and Astronomy, is hosting the 2017 Ferdinand G. Brickwedde Lectures in Physics presented by Andrea M. Ghez, Professor of Physics and Astronomy, University of California, Los Angeles. The lecture entitled “The Monster at the Heart of our Galaxy” will be held on Tuesday, September 19 at 4 […]

The Great American Eclipse in Baltimore – Monday, August 21 at 2:43 PM

80% of the solar surface will be obstructed by the moon at the apex of the The Great American Eclipse, which will occur at approximately 2:43 PM in Baltimore. Here are some useful links to eclipse viewing events in and around Baltimore, and online. Keep in mind that it is not safe to observe a partial solar eclipse without special equipment and/or eye protection!

Former PhD Student R. Paul Drake Receives Teller Medal

Former Ph.D. student from our department, R. Paul Drake is the 2017 recipient of the American Nuclear Society Edward Teller Medal. This medal is given for his seminal work in radiation hydrodynamics, hydrodynamics, and laser-plasma interactions, and for educational contributions, advancing fundamental high-energy-density physics and its applications to astrophysics.

Marc Kamionkowski to give the Hans Jensen Lecture at University of Heidelberg

Prof. Marc Kamionkowski has been invited to give the Hans Jensen Lecture at the University of Heidelberg as part of the doctoral program’s biannual "Heidelberg Physics Graduate Days.” The lecture is named for Hans Jensen, who shared the 1963 Nobel Prize for the nuclear shell model, and is intended to honor speakers who have made fundamental contributions to a research area in modern physics.

Chuck Bennett receives Isaac Newton Medal & Prize from the Institute of Physics

Chuck Bennett
Bloomberg Distinguished Professor Chuck Bennett is the recipient of the 2017 Isaac Newton Medal and Prize, announced today by the Institute of Physics in London in recognition of research that has had a “transformative effect in cosmology.” The IOP cited Bennett’s leadership of NASA’s Wilkinson Microwave Anisotropy Probe space mission.

Department Hosts The NSF/DOE Quantum Science Summer School

Over the next two weeks from, from June 5th through 16th, the department is hosting the Quantum Science Summer School (QS³) for graduate students, sponsored by the National Science Foundation and the Department of Energy. All lectures take place in Schafler Auditorium and are open to the public.

Department to Host Second Annual Intensity Mapping Workshop

Intensity mapping is an emerging area of research in cosmology wherein the integrated light from large numbers of unresolved galaxies is used to infer the cosmic distribution of mass and to learn about the formation of the earliest stars and galaxies. The Workshop is June 12-14 at the Mt. Washington Conference Center.

Physics Major Austin Granmoe Receives Department of Defense SMART Scholarship

Austin Granmoe, who has just completed his sophomore year, is the recipient of the Science, Mathematics And Research for Transformation (SMART) Scholarship established by the Department of Defense (DoD). In exchange for full tuition, a stipend, health insurance, and summer internships, Granmoe has pledged to work for the DoD after graduation.