Department News Archive

Search Our Archives

Chuck Bennett Receives the Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics

Bloomberg Distinguished Professor Chuck Bennett, leader of the Wilkinson Microwave Anisotropy Probe space mission, has been named a recipient of the Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics for his work that established the Standard Model of Cosmology. The entire mission science team will share the $3 million prize, the most lucrative prize in science.

Marc Kamionkowski and Mark Robbins Named Fellows of the AAAS

Marc Kamionkowski and Mark Robbins have been named fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science in recognition of their scientifically distinguished work. Kamionkowski was selected for his contributions to theoretical astrophysics. Robbins, who specializes in condensed matter physics, was recognized for “using simulations to reveal the microscopic origins of macroscopic behavior” of matter. The American […]

Recent PhD Student Liang Wu Selected for Forbes’ 30 under 30 & Michelson Prize

Recent Ph.D. student Liang Wu, who worked with Professor Peter Armitage while at JHU, has been selected as one of Forbes’s “30 under 30” for science. Liang was also recently awarded the Michelson Prize, which is given annually by the Physics Department of Case Western Reserve University to a junior scholar active in any field […]

JHU/UMD Team Selected to Lead Early James Webb Space Telescope Observations

James Webb Space Telescope Under Construction at GSFC

James Webb Space Telescope, the next-generation observatory scheduled to launch in 2019, announced selection of 13 teams to lead Early Release Science programs. Among them is a team led by a recent JHU postdoctoral researcher Dominika Wylezalek (Akbari-Mack Fellow, JHU Provost Fellow), Prof. Nadia Zakamska (JHU) and Prof. Sylvain Veilleux (UMD, College Park).

Prof. Rosemary Wyse Elected a Fellow of the American Physical Society.

Prof. Rosemary Wyse has been elected a Fellow of the American Physical Society. The criterion for election is exceptional contributions to the physics enterprise. Wyse was recognized “For pioneering contributions to the field of galactic archaeology and near-field cosmology.”

Department-wide Colloquia Series Begins September 21 @ 3:30

September 21 marks the beginning of the Fall 2017 Department-wide Colloquia Series. All colloquia begin at 3:30 PM and take place in Schafler Auditorium (Bloomberg 272). Please make every effort to attend these department-wide colloquia.

Dr. Andrea Ghez to present the 2017 Brickwedde Lecture in Physics on 9/19


The Johns Hopkins University, Henry A. Rowland Department of Physics and Astronomy, is hosting the 2017 Ferdinand G. Brickwedde Lectures in Physics presented by Andrea M. Ghez, Professor of Physics and Astronomy, University of California, Los Angeles. The lecture entitled “The Monster at the Heart of our Galaxy” will be held on Tuesday, September 19 at 4 […]

The Great American Eclipse in Baltimore – Monday, August 21 at 2:43 PM

80% of the solar surface will be obstructed by the moon at the apex of the The Great American Eclipse, which will occur at approximately 2:43 PM in Baltimore. Here are some useful links to eclipse viewing events in and around Baltimore, and online. Keep in mind that it is not safe to observe a partial solar eclipse without special equipment and/or eye protection!

Former PhD Student R. Paul Drake Receives Teller Medal

Former Ph.D. student from our department, R. Paul Drake is the 2017 recipient of the American Nuclear Society Edward Teller Medal. This medal is given for his seminal work in radiation hydrodynamics, hydrodynamics, and laser-plasma interactions, and for educational contributions, advancing fundamental high-energy-density physics and its applications to astrophysics.

Marc Kamionkowski to give the Hans Jensen Lecture at University of Heidelberg

Prof. Marc Kamionkowski has been invited to give the Hans Jensen Lecture at the University of Heidelberg as part of the doctoral program’s biannual “Heidelberg Physics Graduate Days.” The lecture is named for Hans Jensen, who shared the 1963 Nobel Prize for the nuclear shell model, and is intended to honor speakers who have made fundamental contributions to a research area in modern physics.