Department News Archive

Two Physics Professors Named AAAS Fellows

Tim Heckman and Marc Kamionkowski are among the 198 new members elected to the 2013 class of American Academy of Arts and Sciences, a group that includes past winners of the Nobel Prize; the National Medal of Science; the Lasker Award; Pulitzer and Shaw prizes; MacArthur and Guggenheim fellowships; Kennedy Center Honors; and Grammy, Emmy, Academy, and Tony awards.

Johns Hopkins Astrophysicists Join Space Mission Aimed at Solving Dark Mysteries of the Universe

Johns Hopkins astrophysicists Brice Ménard and Charles L. Bennett have been appointed to the Euclid Consortium, the international team of scientists overseeing an ambitious space telescope project designed to probe the mysteries of dark energy and dark matter. NASA, a partner in the mission, recently announced their selection to the research team for Euclid. The European Space Agency (ESA) is […]

Dr. Jason Kalirai Awarded the 2013 Newton Lacy Pierce Prize

Jason Kalirai
Jason Kalirai of the Space Telescope Science Institute in Baltimore, MD, has been awarded the 2013 Newton Lacy Pierce Prize. This annual prize from the American Astronomical Society (AAS) is for outstanding achievement in observational astronomy by an astronomer under the age of 36. Kalirai, 34, received the award for his contributions to the field […]

JHU Physicist Inaugural Winner of 2012 Prize of the Asian Union of Magnetics Societies

Chia-Ling Chien
Chia-Ling Chien, the Jacob L. Hain Professor of Physics and the Director of the Material Research Science and Engineering Center at The Johns Hopkins University, is a winner of the first-ever Asian Union of Magnetic Societies Award, recognizing his “seminal contribution to magnetic materials, nanostructures, magnetoelectronic phenomena and devices.” Chien’s current research interests include fabrication […]

JHU’s Ménard named Maryland’s Outstanding Young Scientist of 2012 by the Maryland Academy of Sciences

Astrophysicist Brice Ménard of the Johns Hopkins University has been selected by the Maryland Academy of Sciences as the Outstanding Young Scientist of 2012. He received the award at a ceremony which was held at the Maryland Science Center yesterday. Ménard, an assistant professor in the Henry A. Rowland Department of Physics and Astronomy, was recognized for his research in extragalactic astrophysics and […]

Johns Hopkins Chemist Wins Packard Fellowship

Tyrel McQueen
Johns Hopkins University chemist Tyrel McQueen has been awarded a 2012 David and Lucile Packard Foundation Fellowship for Science and Engineering. The fellowship is one of 16 awarded each year nationwide, and bestows unrestricted funds of $875,000 (over a five-year period) to unusually creative young faculty members in science and engineering. McQueen will use the award to […]

JHU Cosmologists Receive New Frontiers Award for Work on “Origami Universe”

Two Johns Hopkins University research scientists who use the Japanese art of paper folding, known as origami, as a metaphor for understanding the complexity of the cosmos have been named winners of an award through the “New Frontiers in Astronomy & Cosmology International Grant and Essay Writing Competition,” funded by the John Templeton Foundation. Mark Neyrinck and Miguel […]

Astronomers Spy Distant Galaxy in Its Infancy

Discovery of a small, faint galaxy opens window into deepest, most remote epochs of cosmic history. With the combined power of NASA’s Spitzer and Hubble space telescopes as well as a cosmic magnification effect, a team of astronomers led by Wei Zheng of The Johns Hopkins University has spotted what could be the most distant galaxy ever […]

In Memoriam: Dr. Zlatko Tesanovic

Dr. Zlatko Tesanovic
It is with great sadness that we report that Professor Zlatko Tesanovic passed away on July 26, 2012, of an apparent heart attack. A leading theoretical condensed matter physicist, Zlatko’s work primarily concerned high temperature superconductors and related materials. In particular, he worked on the theory and phenomenology of iron- and copper-based high temperature superconductors. He also […]

2012 Gruber Cosmology Prize Awarded to Chuck Bennett and the WMAP Team

Building on his own pioneering contributions to the study of the early universe,Charles L. Bennett, along with the Wilkinson Microwave Anisotropy Probe team, used observations of the so-called “echo of the Big Bang,” the Cosmic Microwave Background radiation, to determine the universe’s vital statistics—its age, content, geometry, and origin. This feat in turn has helped […]