Department News Archive

Stephen Murray Elected to AAAS

Four Johns Hopkins University researchers are among the 388 new fellows elected to the American Association for the Advancement of Science. The School of Arts and Sciences honoree is Stephen Murray, who conducts research in high-energy astrophysics and X-ray astronomy.

FORTIS Takes Flight on Mission to Analyze Comet ISON

The adage “if at first you don’t succeed, try, try again” is apt advice in a host of life’s challenges but none more timely than the launch of FORTIS, a NASA-funded sounding rocket, that took flight before dawn on November 20 from a New Mexican desert. JHU astrophysicist Stephan McCandliss along with his team of […]

Dr. Jason Kalirai Selected as One of Baltimore’s Future Visionaries

Astronomer Dr. Jason Kalirai of the Space Telescope Science Institute (STScI) has been cited by Baltimore Magazine as one of the “top 40 under 40” up-and-comers in the Baltimore metropolitan region. The selection, which the magazine does every five years, looks at young Baltimore professionals in a diversity of fields who in the editor’s opinion […]

Andrei Gritsan Discusses Nobel-Winning Find

Andrei Gritsan
The department’s Andrei Gritsan is a member of a large team of researchers at the Large Hadron Collider in Switzerland and France that, in 2012, announced the discovery of a new subatomic particle, a Higgs boson. He explains the significance of the long-sought Higgs particle and his contributions to the research that led to its discovery in July […]

Sheldon Glashow to give Ferdinand G. Brickwedde Lecture in Physics

Nobel Laureate Sheldon Glashow will give the 2013–14 Ferdinand G. Brickwedde Lecture in Physics, entitled, “Does science evolve through blind chance or intelligent design?” The lecture will be on Tuesday, October 15, 2013, at 4 p.m. in Schafler Auditorium, The Bloomberg Center, Homewood Campus. Reception immediately following. For more information, contact Pam Carmen at 410-516-7346 […]

Johns Hopkins Grad Student Receives 2013 LeRoy Apker Award

First year Johns Hopkins graduate student Guy Marcus has been selected by the American Physical Society to receive the 2013 Leroy Apker Award for his undergraduate research at Wesleyan University, where he worked with Professor Greg Voth to develop a method for 3D printing small anisotropic particles and developed new image processing algorithms to extract […]

Johns Hopkins Grad Student Receives the 2013 Price Prize in Cosmology and AstroParticle Physics

Johns Hopkins graduate student Liang Dai has been selected to receive the 2013 Dr. Pliny A. and Margaret H. Price Prize in Cosmology and AstroParticle Physics for his theoretical work on cosmological perturbations. The Price Prize, established in 2009, is awarded annually by Ohio State University’s Center for Cosmology and AstroParticle Physics (CCAPP) to one […]

Johns Hopkins Astrophysicist Charles Bennett Receives 2013 Jansky Prize

Johns Hopkins University astrophysicist Charles L. Bennett has been selected to receive the 2013 Jansky Prize for his leadership in the establishment of precision cosmology through studies of the Cosmic Microwave Background radiation.  The Karl G. Jansky Lectureship is an honor established by the trustees of Associated Universities, Inc., to recognize outstanding contributions to the […]

Hopkins Astronomer Holland Ford Receives NASA Award for Hubble Contributions

Holland Ford is an astronomer and professor in the Henry A. Rowland Department of Physics and Astronomy at the Johns Hopkins University. He has received NASA’s Distinguished Public Service Medal for his outstanding contributions to the Hubble Space Telescope. The Distinguished Public Service Medal is NASA’s highest form of recognition, awarded to someone who has […]