Department News Archive

Search Our Archives

Kevin Schlaufman Proposes New Limit on the Definition of a Planet

In his paper, published online by the Astrophysical Journal, Assistant Professor Kevin Schlaufman set the upper boundary of planet mass between four and 10 times Jupiter’s mass. Narrowing down the limit to something in that range is now possible primarily because of improvements in the technology and technique of astronomical observation, Schlaufman said. Read more […]

Tamás Budavári Works to Solve Baltimore’s Urban Blight

Associate Research Professor Tamás Budavári was worked for the last year to develop an algorithmic tool that can predict a Baltimore’s vacancies. Read more about his work in a recent WIRED magazine article that spotlights his efforts.

Strong JHU Showing at the 231st Meeting of the American Astronomical Society

Current and former JHU/CAS graduate students and researchers, meeting last week (8 – 12 January 2018) to exchange the results of their research, take a moment to pose for a picture at the 231st meeting of the American Astronomical Society at the National Harbor convention center.

Two From Hopkins Honored by the American Astronomical Society

Joseph Silk, the Homewood Professor of Physics and Astronomy, is the recipient of the 2018 Henry Norris Russell Lectureship, which is intended to recognize a lifetime of eminence in astronomical research. Yacine Ali-Haimoud, who was a postdoc at JHU from 2014–2017 (and joined the faculty of NYU in Fall 2017) is the recipient of the Helen B. Warner Prize, which recognizes outstanding early-career contributions to theoretical or observational astronomy.

Prof. Joseph Silk’s Colleagues Gather in Paris to Celebrate His 75th Birthday

In December 2017 the Institut d’Astrophysique de Paris hosted an international conference to celebrate Joe Silk’s 75th birthday, providing a unique occasion to bring together the world’s top experts in Joe’s topics of interest, in particular his many former students and postdocs who have now become leaders in the fields of Astrophysics and Cosmology.

Chuck Bennett Receives the Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics

Bloomberg Distinguished Professor Chuck Bennett, leader of the Wilkinson Microwave Anisotropy Probe space mission, has been named a recipient of the Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics for his work that established the Standard Model of Cosmology. The entire mission science team will share the $3 million prize, the most lucrative prize in science.

Marc Kamionkowski and Mark Robbins Named Fellows of the AAAS

Marc Kamionkowski and Mark Robbins have been named fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science in recognition of their scientifically distinguished work. Kamionkowski was selected for his contributions to theoretical astrophysics. Robbins, who specializes in condensed matter physics, was recognized for “using simulations to reveal the microscopic origins of macroscopic behavior” of matter. The American […]

Recent PhD Student Liang Wu Selected for Forbes’ 30 under 30 & Michelson Prize

Recent Ph.D. student Liang Wu, who worked with Professor Peter Armitage while at JHU, has been selected as one of Forbes’s “30 under 30” for science. Liang was also recently awarded the Michelson Prize, which is given annually by the Physics Department of Case Western Reserve University to a junior scholar active in any field […]

JHU/UMD Team Selected to Lead Early James Webb Space Telescope Observations

James Webb Space Telescope Under Construction at GSFC

James Webb Space Telescope, the next-generation observatory scheduled to launch in 2019, announced selection of 13 teams to lead Early Release Science programs. Among them is a team led by a recent JHU postdoctoral researcher Dominika Wylezalek (Akbari-Mack Fellow, JHU Provost Fellow), Prof. Nadia Zakamska (JHU) and Prof. Sylvain Veilleux (UMD, College Park).

Prof. Rosemary Wyse Elected a Fellow of the American Physical Society.

Prof. Rosemary Wyse has been elected a Fellow of the American Physical Society. The criterion for election is exceptional contributions to the physics enterprise. Wyse was recognized “For pioneering contributions to the field of galactic archaeology and near-field cosmology.”