Department News Archive

Search Our Archives

David Kaplan’s Particle Fever Receives Hawking Medal for Science Communication

The documentary Particle Fever, which Professor David Kaplan produced, is among the inaugural recipients of the Stephen Hawking Medal for Science Communication. In collaboration with the Starmus Festival, Stephen Hawking personally selected the awardees for “outstanding contributions in the articulation and portrayal of science to the public, within the three categories of science, art, and film.” Learn more about the award here.

Eight Scientists Offer Hypothesis about Black Hole Binary Detected by LIGO

In an new article published in Physical Review Letters , eight scientists within the department suggest a plausibility argument for an abiding mystery in astrophysics. Did the Laser Interferometer Gravitational-Wave Observatory (LIGO) actually find a signature of dark matter in February?

Rosemary F. G. Wyse Awarded Brouwer Award by Division on Dynamical Astronomy

Rosemary Wyse

Professor Rosie Wyse has been awarded the 2016 Brouwer Award by the Division on Dynamical Astronomy of the American Astronomical Society for her fundamental role in advancing our understanding of the structure, dynamics, and formation history of the Milky Way and its satellite galaxies.

High-powered CLASS Telescope Receives ‘First Light’

Bloomberg Distinguished Professor Charles Bennett, Assistant Professor Tobias Marriage, and scores of other Johns Hopkins scientists, have started analyzing data from 13.8 billion-year-old radiation. Click here to read more about ‘first light’ for the CLASS telescope.

Space@Hopkins Initiative Launches with Goal of Bringing Researchers Together

Though Johns Hopkins University has a long history with space studies that dates to before the founding of NASA, Bloomberg Distinguished Professor Charles Bennett couldn’t help but notice how disconnected these research efforts have become across the institution. Space@Hopkins initiative launches with goal of bringing researchers together.

Timothy Heckman Elected to National Academy of Sciences

Timothy Heckman

Dr. A. Hermann Pfund Professor and Department Chair, Tim Heckman, has been elected to the National Academy of Sciences. Heckman was elected to the nonprofit institution in recognition of his distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. Prof. Megan Urry of Yale University, who received her PhD at JHU, was also newly elected.

Space@Hopkins Seed Grant Funding Available

Faculty and research scientists from across the university who are engaged in space-related research (broadly construed) are invited to apply for seed funding from Space@Hopkins, a new interdivisional initiative that unifies civilian space-related activities across the institution. Bloomberg Distinguished Professor Charles Bennett is director of Space@Hopkins. Click here for more information.