Department News Archive

Search Our Archives

2015 Goddard-JHU Interaction is Wednesday, November 18

The annual Goddard-JHU Interaction Day will be Wednesday, November 18 at Johns Hopkins in Bloomberg Room 462. This will be an all-day (9:30-5:00) get-together with a series of short talks and a poster session that highlight the work of our two institutions. Click here for more information.

Josef Pradler Receives the 2015 ASCINA Award

Josef Pradler, a postdoctoral scholar at Johns Hopkins from 2012 to 2014, has been awarded the 2015 ASCINA Award for work completed at Johns Hopkins. The award is offered by ASCINA (Austrian Scientists in North America) for work by a young Austrian scientist while working in North America. Click here for more information.

Adam Showman to present special seminar 10/29

Prof. Adam Showman (U. of Arizona) will present a special talk on Thursday (10/29) in Bloomberg 272 at 3:30: “Weather on Remote Worlds: The Atmospheric Circulation of hot Jupiters.” Click here for the seminar abstract.

Physics and Astronomy Graduate Student Outreach Organization Wins Unique Prize for Their Participation in “Ode to Hubble”

PAGS outreach received a piece of the original Hubble Space Telescope solar array for their participation in the ESA/Hubble “Ode to Hubble” competition. Their entry was a music video parody of the 80s song “Take on Me” titled “HST,” showing their appreciation for the Hubble Space Telescope. It featured many members of the Johns Hopkins Physics department and Space Telescope Science Institute.

Alexander Szalay Wins 2015 IEEE Computer Society Sidney Fernbach Award

Alex Szalay

Bloomberg Distinguished Professor Alex Szalay has been selected as the recipient of the 2015 Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers Computer Society Sidney Fernbach Award. Szalay was recognized “for his outstanding contributions to the development of data-intensive computing systems and on the application of such systems in many scientific areas including astrophysics, turbulence, and genomics.”

David Kaplan wins 2015 NAS Communication Award for “Particle Fever”

Professor and documentary producer David E. Kaplan received the 2015 Communication Award of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine for his film “Particle Fever.” The award, which is supported by the Keck Futures Initiative, includes a $20,000 prize and recognizes excellence in communicating science to the general public. Click here for more.