Graduate Teaching Awards for 2019-2020

  • Posted on:
  • Posted in: Awards, Graduate
Featured image

The graduate program committee recognizes an outstanding performance by co-head teaching assistants Melissa Diamond and Joshua Kable who have performed significantly above and beyond the call of duty this term, and have made major substantive contributions to the success of their extremely large course (AS.171.104, Physics for Biological Majors, nearly 400 undergraduates) this semester. Joshua Kable receives this year’s E.J.Rhee Teaching Award. Melissa Diamond was already recognized for her outstanding performance with a teaching award in 2019, and the committee thanks her for continued excellence.  

Yasuo Oda, most recently head teaching assistant for the Physics Laboratory for Physical science majors, is awarded the 2020 Rowland Prize. Yasuo is an excellent teacher who cares a lot about his students and their experience and understanding. He also served this past year as the TA Representative on PAGS working to improve the teaching across the department.  

Vincent Morano, a teaching assistant for courses for physics majors (Electricity and Magnetism and Classical Mechanics), is recognized for his outstanding work and exceptional evaluations, and receives the 2020 Graduate Teaching Assistant Award.