APS Physics Elects Andrei Gritsan, Michael Falk & Oleg Tchernyshyov as Fellows

  • Posted on:
  • Posted in: Awards
Featured image

Professors Andrei Gritsan, Michael Falk (joint with Materials Science And Engineering), and Oleg Tchernyshyov have been elected as Fellows of the American Physical Society. No more than ½% of APS members can be elected as Fellows in any year, so this is indeed a great honor. The citations are as follows:

Andrei Gritsan:

“For significant contributions to the discovery and to the characterization of the Higgs Boson at the CERN Large Hadron Collider, and for significant contributions to the measurement of sin2alpha at the SLAC PEP II collider.”

Michael Falk:

“For fundamental advances in our understanding of the mechanical response of amorphous solids through the use of innovative computational methods and theories that reveal the connection between local rearrangements and large scale response.”

Oleg Tchernyshyov:

“For seminal advances in magnetic solitons and the development of collective coordinate formalism of dynamics of magnetic solitons for ferromagnetic thin wires, skyrmion crystals and extended domain walls.”